CAS logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CAS Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass

TL;DR
  • The Certified Annuity Specialist program uses two proctored online exams (one per module) plus a written case study, not one exam.
  • IBF has not publicly verified numeric passing cutoffs, question counts, or exam duration in the sources we reviewed.
  • Standard tuition is $1,695, with an optional Concierge add-on at $295.
  • Prepare for mastery of all 18 chapters across Annuity Fundamentals and Advanced Applications rather than chasing a rumored percentage.

The Short Answer: What Is the CAS Passing Score?

If you searched for a single number, here is the honest answer: the Certified Annuity Specialist (CAS) credential, offered by the Institute of Business & Finance (IBF), does not have a publicly verified numeric passing cutoff that we can responsibly quote. We reviewed the issuer's indexed program materials, and while they describe the structure of the assessments in some detail, they do not publish a scaled score, a raw percentage, or a pass/fail threshold for either exam.

That matters because the internet is full of confident-sounding figures for credentials that share the "CAS" acronym. Several unrelated certifications use those same three letters, and their scoring rules, fees, and exam formats have nothing to do with the annuity designation covered here. This article deals exclusively with the Certified Annuity Specialist program from IBF, and it refuses to borrow numbers from any other credential. If you see a specific percentage attached to "the CAS exam" elsewhere, check which credential it describes before you trust it.

Why this article is different: Instead of inventing a cutoff to make the headline satisfying, we separate what is verified from what is not, and then show you how to prepare in a way that works regardless of where the cutoff sits. If IBF publishes numeric thresholds in the future, you will want to confirm them directly with the issuer.

For a broader look at how this credential fits together, see our overview of what CAS certification is and the CAS requirements guide covering eligibility.

Why There Is No Single CAS Score to Chase

Most candidates imagine a credential exam as one sitting with one score report. The CAS program does not work that way. The current program consists of two proctored online exams, one tied to each curriculum module, and a written case study. That means "the passing score" is not one number but a set of separate requirements, and the issuer has not made the numeric details for each public.

This structure changes how you should think about readiness:

  • You are not averaging across domains. Because each module is assessed on its own, strength in one area should not be assumed to offset weakness in the other.
  • The case study is a distinct hurdle. A written application exercise tests whether you can use annuity knowledge in a scenario, which is a different skill from recognizing a correct answer.
  • Different proctored sessions mean different preparation windows. You can sequence your study around the modules instead of cramming everything at once.

Do not represent this program as a single CAS exam or as a state insurance licensing examination. It is a continuing-education style professional designation, and its assessment design reflects that.

How the CAS Assessment Is Actually Structured

Here is what the reviewed issuer materials support, laid out so you can see exactly where the gaps are.

ElementWhat Is Documented
Issuing organizationInstitute of Business & Finance (IBF), not FINRA
Assessment componentsTwo online proctored exams (one per module) plus a written case study
ProctoringProctorU or an approved personal proctor, per indexed issuer materials; FINRA's listing describes closed-book proctored testing
Curriculum18 chapters in two modules of nine chapters each
Recommended study time55-70 hours, with a 12-month completion period (neither is exam duration)
Question counts and formatNot publicly verified
Per-exam durationNot publicly verified
Numeric passing cutoffsNot publicly verified
Official pass rateNot publicly disclosed in reviewed sources

Note the last four rows. The 55-70 study hours and the 12-month completion window are guidance for how long preparation and enrollment run. They are not the length of any exam sitting, and mixing those up is a common mistake. For more on the pass-rate side of the story, read our CAS pass rate analysis.

What Is Verified and What Is Not

Being precise about uncertainty is more useful than false confidence. Here is a plain accounting.

Verified from issuer-indexed materials

  • Two proctored online exams plus a written case study make up the current assessment structure
  • Eligibility is a bachelor's degree or one year of financial-services experience
  • The curriculum runs 18 chapters across two modules of nine
  • Maintenance involves 30 CE hours every two years and applicable IBF membership or status obligations

Not verified, so not stated here

  • Any numeric passing cutoff, scaled or raw
  • Question counts, scored versus unscored item splits, and item format
  • Per-exam time limits
  • Calculator rules, adaptive behavior, and navigation rules
  • How many retakes each exam includes
  • A weighted exam-domain blueprint or a formal version year
  • Annual dues amounts and the fixed initial validity term

One especially important point: the two "domains" listed for this credential, Annuity Fundamentals and Advanced Applications, are the preparation modules in the issuer's course. They are not a verified official exam blueprint with published weightings. You cannot responsibly claim that one module carries more weight than the other. For a closer read of the content areas, see our guide to the CAS exam domains.

Module One Mastery: Annuity Fundamentals

Since no numeric cutoff is published, the practical goal is command of the material, not a target percentage. The first module covers the mechanics and tax treatment that underpin every annuity conversation. The issuer's published topic summaries for this module include the following.

Domain 1: Annuity Fundamentals

These topic summaries come from the issuer's course description. They are not asserted to be the nine individual chapter titles, which have not been fully verified.

  • Fixed-rate and variable annuity mechanics and guarantees: how each contract type credits value and what is and is not guaranteed
  • Contract features: death benefits, riders, and surrender schedules, including how these interact over time
  • Annuitization options and payout calculations: converting a contract value into an income stream
  • Insurance company mechanics: reserves, ratings, and solvency, which matter because guarantees are only as strong as the issuer behind them
  • Annuity taxation: exclusion ratios, 1035 exchanges, and penalty rules

Taxation is where many candidates stumble, because the rules interlock. Understanding why a 1035 exchange can preserve tax deferral, how an exclusion ratio splits each payment into return of basis and taxable gain, and when early-distribution penalties apply requires working problems, not just reading definitions. Surrender schedules deserve the same treatment: be able to reason through what happens to a client who needs liquidity in year three of a long schedule.

Because the exams are described as closed-book and proctored, you cannot rely on looking up a formula mid-session. Practice recalling definitions and walking through payout logic from memory. Our CAS cheat sheet is a good place to consolidate the must-know facts for this module, and you can test yourself with the practice questions on the main practice test site.

Module Two Mastery: Advanced Applications

The second module moves from how contracts work to how they are designed, evaluated, and used in income planning. This is the material most closely tied to real client conversations, which is also why it connects to the case study.

Domain 2: Advanced Applications

Again, these are published topic summaries, not a verified exam blueprint.

  • Living benefits: GLWBs, GMABs, and income guarantees, including what each promises and what conditions apply
  • Fixed indexed annuity design: crediting methods, caps, and participation rates
  • FIA due diligence, compliance, and common client questions: how to evaluate a product and explain it accurately
  • Registered index-linked annuities (RILAs) and buffer strategies: how buffers absorb a defined portion of index losses
  • Spending principal strategies and income distribution planning: sequencing withdrawals and structuring retirement income

A useful way to separate the products in your head: ask what each one does when markets fall, what limits the upside, and what the client gives up in exchange for the protection. An FIA's caps and participation rates cap upside in exchange for downside protection; a RILA's buffer absorbs a defined layer of loss while leaving the client exposed beyond it. Being able to state those tradeoffs plainly, without hedging into vagueness, is exactly what a case-study reviewer will look for.

A caution on practice banks: Any allocation of practice questions between the two modules, including on this site, is editorial. It reflects how we organize study material, not an official exam weighting. Do not treat a practice-bank split as evidence of what the real exams emphasize.

The Written Case Study

The case study is the part of the program that a pure multiple-choice mindset leaves people unprepared for. While the exact grading rubric and any numeric standard for it are not publicly verified, the nature of a written case exercise is clear enough to prepare for: you are asked to apply what you learned to a client scenario and justify a recommendation in your own words.

To prepare, practice the following moves:

  1. Identify the client's actual need first. Income, accumulation, legacy, and liquidity pull in different directions.
  2. Match product features to that need. Explain why a living benefit, an indexed strategy, or a buffered structure fits or does not fit.
  3. Address the downsides explicitly. Surrender charges, caps, fees, and carrier strength belong in a credible recommendation.
  4. Account for tax consequences. A recommendation that ignores exclusion ratios or exchange rules is incomplete.
  5. Write clearly and concisely. Reviewers read for reasoning, not volume.

Writing a few practice recommendations from scratch will teach you more than rereading chapters, because it exposes the gaps between recognizing a concept and explaining it.

Proctoring, Tuition, and Registration Mechanics

The fee and logistics picture is partly documented and partly open. Standard tuition is $1,695, and an optional Concierge add-on is $295. The indexed materials do not show a public member versus non-member pricing table, and the standard proctor fees and annual dues remain unverified, so budget with a margin and confirm the current figures directly with the issuer before enrolling. Our CAS certification cost breakdown walks through what is and is not known.

Proctoring is described as taking place through ProctorU or an approved personal proctor. In either case, expect closed-book conditions. Practical preparation steps include:

  • Confirm your testing environment and technology requirements well before exam day
  • Decide early whether you will use the online proctoring service or arrange a personal proctor
  • Plan for identification checks and workspace rules
  • Keep the 12-month completion period in mind when scheduling both exams and the case study

For scheduling specifics, see our guide to CAS exam dates and scheduling. Eligibility is a bachelor's degree or one year of financial-services experience; details are in the requirements article.

Building a Readiness Plan Around the Two Modules

Because the passing standard is unpublished, the safest strategy is to aim for genuine mastery across both modules. The issuer recommends 55-70 hours of study, which gives you a realistic budget to plan around. Here is one way to sequence it, tied to the actual content rather than a generic template.

Weeks 1-2

Contract mechanics and guarantees

  • Fixed-rate versus variable annuity mechanics
  • Death benefits, riders, and surrender schedules
  • Why early: everything later builds on these definitions
Week 3

Payouts, insurer strength, and taxation

  • Annuitization options and payout calculations
  • Reserves, ratings, and solvency
  • Exclusion ratios, 1035 exchanges, and penalty rules, worked through with practice problems
Weeks 4-5

Living benefits and indexed designs

  • GLWBs and GMABs
  • FIA crediting methods, caps, and participation rates
  • FIA due diligence and common client questions
Week 6

RILAs, income planning, and the case study

  • Buffer strategies in RILAs
  • Spending principal and distribution planning
  • Draft practice case-study recommendations that pull in taxation from Week 3

The logic is that taxation from Module One resurfaces in Module Two's income planning, so learning it first and revisiting it during case-study practice reinforces both. Adjust the pace to your background; someone who already sells these products daily may compress the early weeks. For a deeper walkthrough, read our CAS study guide, and if you are wondering how demanding the material is, see how hard the CAS exam is.

Key Takeaway

Do not let the missing cutoff push you toward minimum-effort studying. Without a published threshold, the only reliable target is to answer confidently and correctly across every topic in both modules, then back it up with a clear written case recommendation.

After You Pass: Maintenance and Career Context

Earning the designation is not the end of the obligation. Maintenance requires 30 CE hours every two years and applicable IBF membership or status obligations. The annual dues amount and the fixed initial validity term are not verified in the reviewed sources, so confirm both with IBF.

On the career side, the credential is aimed at professionals who advise on or sell annuity products and want a recognized designation in that specialty. Typical audiences include insurance agents, financial advisors, and others in financial services who regularly field retirement-income questions. We do not cite salary or pass-rate figures here because none are verified; if you want to explore the practical value, our ROI analysis, salary guide, and CAS jobs overview cover how to think about it.

When you are ready to check your recall under realistic conditions, take a few sets on the CAS Exam Prep practice test site and use the results to decide which module needs another pass.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the passing score for the Certified Annuity Specialist exam?

IBF has not publicly published a verified numeric passing cutoff in the sources we reviewed. The program includes two proctored online exams and a written case study, so confirm any scoring details directly with the issuer rather than relying on third-party figures.

Is the CAS a single exam?

No. The current program has two online proctored exams, one for each curriculum module (Annuity Fundamentals and Advanced Applications), plus a written case study. It is also not a state insurance licensing examination.

Can I rely on scores or pass rates I see for other "CAS" credentials?

No. Several unrelated credentials share the CAS acronym, and their scoring, fees, and formats differ completely. Only information tied to the Certified Annuity Specialist from the Institute of Business & Finance applies here.

How long should I study, and is that the exam length?

The recommended study range is 55-70 hours, with a 12-month completion period. Those are preparation and enrollment guidance, not the duration of any exam. Per-exam time limits are not publicly verified.

How many times can I retake an exam if I do not pass?

The per-exam retake entitlement is not publicly verified in the reviewed materials. Ask IBF about retake policies and any associated fees before you schedule, so you can plan your budget and timeline accordingly.

Ready to pass your CAS exam?

Put this into practice with free CAS questions across every exam domain.