- Why There Is No Official Pass Rate to Quote
- What Is Actually Being Measured: Two Exams Plus a Case Study
- How to Spot Fabricated CAS Pass Rate Claims
- What Realistically Drives Pass and Fail Outcomes
- Annuity Fundamentals: Where Candidates Win or Lose Early
- Advanced Applications: The Judgment-Heavy Module
- Readiness Signals Better Than a Pass Rate
- Sequencing Your Prep Around the Two Modules
- Registration, Proctoring, and Cost Mechanics
- After You Pass: Maintenance and Career Use
- Frequently Asked Questions
- No official Certified Annuity Specialist pass rate is publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed, so any specific percentage you see is unverified.
- The program includes two proctored online exams, one per module, plus a written case study, so there is no single exam score.
- Numeric passing cutoffs, question counts, and exam durations are not publicly verified, so judge readiness by mastery, not rumor.
- The curriculum has 18 chapters across Annuity Fundamentals and Advanced Applications, nine chapters each; recommended study time is 55-70 hours.
Why There Is No Official Pass Rate to Quote
Anyone searching for a Certified Annuity Specialist pass rate wants a single reassuring number. The honest answer is that the Institute of Business & Finance (IBF), the body that publishes the CAS course and administers its assessments, does not publicly disclose an official pass rate in the sources we reviewed. That is the starting point for this article, and it shapes everything else we say.
This matters because the CAS is frequently confused with other credentials that share the same three letters. Those programs are run by different organizations, test different material, and publish (or don't publish) their own statistics. Nothing about them transfers to the annuity designation covered here. When you see a pass-rate figure attached to "CAS" on a forum or aggregator site, the first question should be: which CAS, and where did the number originate? If the source cannot be traced to IBF, treat it as noise.
What Is Actually Being Measured: Two Exams Plus a Case Study
A pass rate is only meaningful if you know what "passing" refers to. The current Certified Annuity Specialist assessment structure is not a single sitting. It consists of two online proctored exams, one for each curriculum module, plus a written case study. That means "the pass rate" could refer to a first-attempt rate on the first exam, an overall completion rate, or something else entirely. Without disclosure from IBF, it is impossible to know which definition any circulating number uses.
Proctoring is handled through ProctorU or an approved personal proctor, as described in indexed issuer materials, and FINRA's listing of the credential describes closed-book proctored testing. Exact question counts, scored versus unscored item splits, per-exam durations, item formats, and numeric passing cutoffs are not publicly verified. If you want to understand how scoring thresholds are discussed, our CAS passing score breakdown lays out what is and is not known.
| Element | What is verified | What remains unverified |
|---|---|---|
| Exam structure | Two proctored online exams (one per module) plus a written case study | Question counts, duration, item format |
| Passing standard | Exists as part of the assessment process | Numeric cutoffs for each exam |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed in reviewed sources | Any first-attempt or overall percentage |
| Retakes | Program policies exist | Per-exam retake entitlement |
| Test-day rules | Closed-book, proctored | Calculator, adaptive, and navigation rules |
How to Spot Fabricated CAS Pass Rate Claims
Because the real figure is undisclosed, a vacuum exists, and low-quality content fills it. Here are the patterns worth recognizing:
- A round, confident percentage with no citation. If a page says "the CAS pass rate is X%" without naming IBF as the source, assume it was guessed or borrowed from another credential.
- Single-exam framing. The Certified Annuity Specialist is not a single exam, so a claim about "the CAS exam's pass rate" already misdescribes the program.
- Older structural descriptions. Some older accounts describe a six-module, three-exam format. The current program has two modules, two proctored exams, and a case study. Pass-rate claims built on the older structure are stale.
- Mixed-up acronyms. Statistics, fees, and domain weights from other credentials sharing the acronym get pasted into annuity-specialist content. If a page mentions a certifying body other than IBF for this designation, discard it.
For clarity on the designation itself, our explainers on what CAS certification is and what CAS stands for separate the annuity credential from the lookalikes.
What Realistically Drives Pass and Fail Outcomes
With no official statistics, we can still reason about what likely separates candidates who clear the assessments from those who don't, using the program's own design. This is analysis, not data, and we label it as such.
The candidate pool is self-selected
Eligibility requires a bachelor's degree or one year of financial-services experience. Most people entering the program are already working with retirement clients or are preparing to. That tends to mean familiarity with product vocabulary, though not necessarily the contract-level and tax-level detail the curriculum goes into. See CAS requirements for the full eligibility picture.
The curriculum is course-based, not a licensing exam
This is not a state insurance licensing examination, and it should not be studied like one. Licensing exams emphasize regulations and product classification across many lines of insurance. The CAS curriculum goes deeper on a narrow product family: how annuities work, how they are taxed, how income guarantees are structured, and how to explain them to clients.
The recommended workload is modest but real
IBF-aligned materials suggest roughly 55-70 study hours with a 12-month completion period. Note that the 12-month window is a program completion timeframe, not an exam length. Candidates who treat 55-70 hours as an upper bound they can skim through are the ones most likely to be surprised by detail-oriented questions.
Annuity Fundamentals: Where Candidates Win or Lose Early
The first curriculum module, Annuity Fundamentals, contains nine chapters. We cannot list all chapter titles because the complete set has not been verified, but the published topic summaries tell us what the module covers. Treat these as preparation themes, not an official exam blueprint with weights. We do not know which module carries more scoring emphasis, and nothing here should be read as implying one does. Our CAS exam domains guide covers how the two areas are organized.
Domain 1: Annuity Fundamentals
This module establishes the mechanics every later topic relies on. Candidates should be fluent in these themes:
- Fixed-rate and variable annuity mechanics and guarantees: how each type credits value and what the issuer actually promises.
- Contract features: death benefits, riders, and surrender schedules, including how they interact.
- Annuitization options and payout calculations: the structure of income choices and the math behind them.
- Insurance company mechanics: reserves, ratings, and solvency, which underpin the "guarantee is only as good as the issuer" principle.
- Annuity taxation: exclusion ratios, 1035 exchanges, and penalty rules.
Taxation is a classic place where otherwise strong candidates stumble. Knowing that a 1035 exchange can move value without immediate tax recognition is easy; correctly reasoning about exclusion ratios and penalty rules in a scenario is harder. Practice working through examples rather than memorizing definitions.
Advanced Applications: The Judgment-Heavy Module
The second module, Advanced Applications, also has nine chapters. Here the emphasis shifts from how products work to how they are designed, evaluated, and applied to client situations. The written case study fits naturally with this material, since it asks candidates to apply knowledge rather than recall it.
Domain 2: Advanced Applications
Candidates should be able to explain, compare, and apply the following:
- Living benefits: GLWBs, GMABs, and income guarantees, including what triggers and sustains them.
- Fixed indexed annuity design: crediting methods, caps, and participation rates, and how they shape expected outcomes.
- FIA due diligence, compliance, and common client questions: the suitability and communication side of recommending these products.
- Registered index-linked annuities (RILAs) and buffer strategies: how buffers differ from guarantees and what risk the client retains.
- Spending principal strategies and income distribution planning: structuring retirement income from a portfolio that includes annuities.
The distinction between a buffer and a floor, or between a cap and a participation rate, is exactly the kind of nuance that separates surface familiarity from usable expertise. This module rewards candidates who can articulate trade-offs in plain language, which is also the skill employers value. If you are weighing where this credential leads, our pages on CAS jobs and the CAS salary guide cover the career side without relying on invented figures.
Readiness Signals Better Than a Pass Rate
Since a population-level pass rate is unavailable and wouldn't predict your personal result anyway, use these self-checks:
- Explain, don't recite. Can you explain the difference between a GLWB and a GMAB to a skeptical client without notes?
- Work the tax logic. Can you walk through how an exclusion ratio affects the taxable portion of a payout and when penalty rules apply?
- Distinguish product risk. Can you state, for fixed, variable, FIA, and RILA contracts, who bears market risk and where guarantees begin and end?
- Draft a case response. Can you write a coherent recommendation for a hypothetical retiree, including due diligence points and likely client objections?
- Handle closed-book conditions. Have you practiced answering without references open, since testing is proctored and closed-book?
Key Takeaway
Your best predictor is not a national percentage but your performance on realistic scenario questions in both modules. Run timed practice, review every miss, and use our CAS practice tests to find weak topics before the proctored sitting.
Sequencing Your Prep Around the Two Modules
Because the program is organized as two modules with their own exams, a module-by-module schedule is more sensible than a generic study plan. The structure below is an editorial suggestion built on the 55-70 hour recommendation, not an official IBF schedule. For the full approach, see our CAS study guide.
Product mechanics first
- Fixed and variable annuity mechanics, guarantees, and contract features
- Build a one-page comparison of death benefits, riders, and surrender schedules
Payouts, issuer strength, and tax
- Annuitization options and payout calculations
- Reserves, ratings, and solvency; then exclusion ratios, 1035 exchanges, and penalties
- Take a practice set targeting Annuity Fundamentals
Income guarantees and index design
- GLWBs and GMABs, then FIA crediting methods, caps, and participation rates
RILAs, income planning, and the case study
- Buffer strategies and principal-spending approaches
- Draft a practice case response and review it against the due diligence topics
Front-loading Annuity Fundamentals is deliberate: the Advanced Applications material assumes you already understand contract features and taxation. If you only have time for a quick refresher near test day, our CAS cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts.
Registration, Proctoring, and Cost Mechanics
Logistics affect outcomes more than people admit. A rushed proctoring setup or a misunderstood policy can derail a candidate who knew the material.
- Tuition: standard tuition is $1,695, with an optional Concierge service at $295.
- Proctoring: assessments are proctored online via ProctorU or an approved personal proctor. Standard proctor fees are not verified, so confirm any extra charges before you schedule.
- Member pricing: no public member versus non-member table was found, and annual dues amounts remain unverified.
- Retakes: per-exam retake entitlement is not verified. Ask before you sit rather than assuming.
For a full breakdown of what is known about spend, see CAS certification cost, and for scheduling considerations see CAS exam dates.
After You Pass: Maintenance and Career Use
Earning the designation is not the end of the obligation. Maintenance requires 30 CE hours every two years, plus applicable IBF membership or status obligations. The annual dues amount and the fixed initial validity term are not verified, so confirm them directly with IBF.
The designation is most relevant to professionals who discuss retirement income with clients: advisors, agents, and planners who need to explain guarantees, riders, and taxation credibly. Whether it justifies the investment depends on your client base and role, which we examine in is the CAS certification worth it. If you are still orienting yourself, start with what CAS is and CAS training options.
Frequently Asked Questions
An official pass rate is not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed. Any specific percentage you encounter should be treated as unverified unless it is traced directly to the Institute of Business & Finance.
No. The current structure includes two online proctored exams, one per module, plus a written case study. It is also not a state insurance licensing examination.
Recommended preparation is 55-70 hours, with a 12-month completion period. Those figures describe study effort and program timeframe, not how long an exam sitting lasts.
Annuity Fundamentals and Advanced Applications, with nine chapters each for 18 total. These are curriculum modules, not a verified weighted exam blueprint, so no module should be assumed to carry more weight.
A bachelor's degree or one year of financial-services experience. After certification, maintenance requires 30 CE hours every two years plus applicable IBF membership or status obligations.